Design Review Board


The design review board (Board) was created in 2019 with the adoption of Chapter 2.61, Design Review Board, of the Mount Vernon Municipal Code.  The Board consists of five members who interpret, review and implement design review as provided by the city’s design standards adopted in Chapter 17.70 MVMC.  

Design review board members are required to have qualifications, skills or demonstrated interest in architecture, city planning, urban design, development or building, and must be able to demonstrate the ability to read and interpret site plans, elevation drawings, landscape plans, architectural details and other design details and specifications as may be depicted on plans. There shall be one member selected by the mayor from each of the categories listed below:

  • A licensed architect or professional building designer with demonstrated experience.
  • A person owning a business located in the historic downtown and abutting areas defined in MVMC 17.70.020.
  •  A member representing the downtown association.

The city’s development services director or his/her designee and a design review consultant under contract with the city shall be the fourth and fifth members of the board.

Current Members

  • Christian Carlson
  • Ellen Gamson
  • Kathleen Bisagna
  • Adair Orr
  • Development Services Director or Designee (Stacie Pratschner or Rebecca Lowell)