Concealed Pistol License
Most Washington State firearms laws are found in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 9.41
Please remember that by possessing a firearm there is always the possibility of firearm accidents. We suggest every member of your household be trained in firearm safety. Gunlocks, safes and other devices are recommended.
Original CPL $49.25 (Non-refundable fee, licenses are good for 5 years)
Renewal $32.00 (License may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date)
Late Renewal $42.00 (The day after a license expires it becomes a "late renewal", more than 90 days requires a new application)
Replacement $10.00 (A lost or stolen license and holder resides within the city limits)
Cash, checks, or money orders are accepted.
Fingerprinting service for Original Concealed Pistol Applications and licenses more than 90 days expired is currently by appointment only due to Covid-19. You may submit application form, payment, and copy of your identification via mail to: Mount Vernon Police Department, 1805 Continental Place, Mount Vernon, WA 98273, however your application will not be considered complete until fingerprints are taken. When we receive your application, we will call you to schedule a fingerprinting appointment.
Criteria to Apply for CPL:- Completed Application Form
- You must be 21 years or older.
- Posses a valid Washington Drivers License or Identification Card.
- Live within Mount Vernon City limits.
- Never have been convicted of a felony crime in this state or elsewhere (CPL application has additional
- Never have been convicted of a domestic violence crime.
The Background Process & Expired Licenses:
The fingerprints taken during the application process will be submitted as part of the background check through state records databases and the FBI. Applications will be processed as soon as possible.
Applicants found to be ineligible will be notified.
A license may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license or 90 days after expiration for an additional fee. The new license will expire 5 years from the expiration date on the previous license. There are no grace periods once a license expires. The $42.00 Late Renewal fee applies after expiration.
Active deployed military in need of renewal can print an application form and mail to: 1805 Continental Place, Mount Vernon, WA 98273. Application packet must include required fee, copy of military orders, and notarized proof of identity. Renewal for active deployed military personnel will only be valid for 1 year.
To Renew an Existing License which is NOT 90 days past the expiration date:
Use the application form link listed above for Active Deployed Military. Mail the completed form, a copy of your existing Concealed Pistol License, and the required fee to Mount Vernon Police Department, 1805 Continental Place, Mount Vernon, WA 98273, or place in the secure drop box inside the first front door.